Kyle Carragher announced as finalist for Sport BC Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Kyle Carragher (TAG) was announced as one of the three finalists for Junior Male Athlete of the Year for the 2014 Sport BC Athlete of the Year awards.

Carragher was the Gymnastics BC Trampoline Gymnastics Male Athlete of the Year. At the 2013 World Age Group Championships he won silver in boy's 15-16 double mini-trampoline and bronze in boys' 15-16 tumbling.

The awards will be presented on March 5, 2014, at the Fairmont Vancouver downtown.

Below is the full list of finalists in all eighteen awards categories.

Male Junior Athlete of the Year
Kyle Carragher (Port Coquitlam) – Gymnastics
Dylan French (Richmond) – Fencing
Kevin Kwon (Maple Ridge) – Golf

Athlete with a Disability
Sonja Gaudet (Vernon, BC) – Wheelchair Curling
Brianna Nelson (North Saanich, BC) – Swimming
Michelle Stilwell (Parksville, BC) – Wheelchair Athletics

College Athlete of the Year
Alanna Bekkering (Kamloops, BC) – Soccer
RuiLin Huang (Burnaby, BC) – Badminton
Kayla Unger (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball

Female Coach of the Year
Kim Chapdelaine (Abbotsford, BC) – Athletics - Track & Field
Tracy David (Victoria, BC) – Soccer
Jen Ross (Abbotsford, BC) – Rugby

Male Coach of the Year
Randy Bennett (Victoria, BC) – Swimming
Victor Gantsevich (Richmond, BC) – Fencing
Graham Thomas (Vancouver, BC) – Hockey

Female High School Athlete of the Year
Asianna Covington (Surrey) – Athletics - Track & Field
Emma Entzminger (Victoria, BC) – Volleyball, Basketball, Softball and Soccer
Emma Wolfram (Kamloops, BC) – Basketball

Male High School Athlete of the Year
Lars Bornemann (Victoria, BC) – Volleyball, Basketball and Track & Field
Marcus Davis (Saanichton, BC) – Football
Amarveer Dhesi (Surrey, BC) – Wrestling

Female Junior Athlete of the Year
Georgia Ellenwood (Langley, BC) – Athletics - Track & Field
Taylor Kim (Surrey, BC) – Golf
Emma von Dadelszen (Vancouver, BC) – Fencing

Master Athlete of the Year
Christa Bortignon (West Vancouver, BC) – Athletics
Gerry Poulton (Victoria, BC) – Squash
Dr. Cathryn Zeglinski (Vancouver, BC) – XCO Cross Country Mountain Bike

Official of the Year
Len Apedaile (Black Creek, BC) – Cross Country Skiing
Dale Jackson (Victoria, BC) – Golf
Steve Papp (Saanichton, BC) – Hockey

Female Senior Athlete of the Year
Stacie Anaka (Burnaby, BC) – Wrestling
Hilary Caldwell (White Rock, BC) – Swimming
Kim Gaucher (Mission, BC) – Basketball

Male Senior Athlete of the Year
Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops, BC) – Athletics - Track & Field
Ryan Cochrane (Victoria, BC) – Swimming
Kelly Olynyk (Kamloops, BC) – Basketball

Team of the Year
Team McNamara (Delta, BC) – Beach
Volleyball Trinity Western University Women’s Soccer (Langley, BC)
University of British Columbia Men’s Soccer (Vancouver, BC)

University Athlete of the Year
Maxwell Lattimer (Delta, BC) – Rowing
Shanice Marcelle (Victoria, BC) – Volleyball
Nayo Raincock-Ekunwe (Vernon, BC) – Basketball

An additional four awards will be presented at the ceremony including Best of B.C., Community champion, Harry Jerome comeback and the Daryl Thompson lifetime achievement award.

About the Athlete of the Year Awards

The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport B.C., is the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada. Awards in 17 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in our province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC's growing talents.

Also included as part of the evening's celebration of sport is the presentation of the annual President's awards. Now in its 20th year, the President's awards are presented to volunteers from Sport B.C. member organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy, and commitment contribute to development of their respective sport or organization.